RateADrug.com Logo The users guide
to prescription drugs
and supplements
Finding the right
medication is important
Let RateADrug help.
  • Evaluate your current medication
  • Compare conventional and alternative therapies
  • Get information without drug company bias
 Home |Compare Treatments |Evaluate Your Treatment |Symptom Feedback |Drugs A to Z |Supplements A to Z |More Tools
Search for a Treatment  
Find Treatments by Condition       
Browse by name:
Aa-Ab | Ac | Ad-Ak | Al | Am | An-Ap | Aq-Ar | As-Az  Hide
Ba-Bd | Be-Bh | Bi-Bo | Bp-Br | Bs-Bz  Hide
Ca | Cb-Ce | Cf-Ch | Ci | Cj-Cl | Cm-Co | Cp-Cz  Hide
Da-Dd | De | Df-Di |Dj-Do | Dp-Dz  Hide
Ea-El | Em-Ep | Eq-Es | Et | Eu-Ez  Hide
Fa-Fd | Fe-Fh | Fi-Fk | Fl | Fm-Ft | Fu-Fz  Hide
Ha-He | Hf-Hz  Hide
Ia-Il | Im-In | Io-Ip | Iq-Iz  Hide
La-Ld | Le| Lf-Ln| Lo | Lp-Lz  Hide
Na | Nb-Nh | Ni | Nj-Nz  Hide
Oa-Op | Oq-Ow | Ox-Oz  Hide
Pa | Pb-Pe | Pf-Ph | Pi | Pj-Pr | Ps-Pz  Hide
Ra-Rd | Re | Rf-Rz  Hide
Ta-Td | Te | Tf-Th | Ti | Tj-Tq | Tra-Tri | Trj-Tz  Hide

Tri-Sprintec

User Ratings
Out of 10
Satisfaction
5.3
4.8  Effectiveness
6.8  Side Effects
5.2  Holistic Benefits

RateADrug users have reported 11 Tri-Sprintec side effects and 2 Tri-Sprintec benefits.

Be better informed. Are you taking Tri-Sprintec?  
Yes |No
Treatment Information
Generic name and active ingredients are norgestimate and ethinyl estradiol.
It is an oral contraceptive which is also effective in treating acne.

Functions by preventing pregnancy brought about by stopping ovulation and altering the endometrium and cervical mucus.

Available in packs containing 28 tablets that should be taken in order suggested.

The inactive ingredients include anhydrous lactose, lactose monohydrate, lake blend black LB 636, magnesium stearate, and pregelatinized starch

Each light blue tablet contains progestational compound norgestimate, oxime, estrogenic compound, ethinyl estradiol, and the inactive ingredients include anhydrous lactose, FD&C blue no. 2 aluminum lake, lactose monohydrate, magnesium stearate, and pregelatinized starch.

Each blue tablet contains progestational compound norgestimate, oxime, and estrogenic compound, ethinyl estradiol, and the inactive ingredients include anhydrous lactose, FD&C blue no. 2 aluminum lake, lactose monohydrate, magnesium stearate, and pregelatinized starch.

Each white tablet contains only inert ingredients as follows: anhydrous lactose, hypromellose, magnesium stearate, and microcrystalline cellulose.
Low libido? Here’s how to increase your sex drive.
Smalllibido intro - knivesout.jpg

Medications can cause loss of libido?

Smalllibido doctor help - dhammza.jpg

How can your doctor help?

Smalllibido medications - rakka.jpg

Medications

Smalllibido herbs - funadium.jpg

Supplements

Smalllibido ayurveda - oceandesetoiles.jpg

Ayurveda

Smalllibido chinese medicine - jared kelly.jpg

Oriental Medicine

Smalllibido alternative - myyogaonline.jpg

Other things to try

Share Your Experiences with Tri-Sprintec
How has Tri-Sprintec affected you? Describe your experience with this treatment.
Create a display name (optional):
I would like to upload a video with this comment
I have read and agree to the RateADrug.com Terms of Use.    
Email Address: (will remain absolutely private)
   
User Comments and videos for Tri-Sprintec
Share your views and experiences, and ger feedback from others.
26 Oct 2016 I was on sprintec most of my adukt life to regulate my menstrual cycles. I was overweight from 19 years old and on, never able to stick to a diet or avoid sweets, or stop smoking. I went off sprintec at 35. By 37, I managed to start eating right and exercising and made it to my optimal weight and stayed there. I went back on sprintec and just recently discovered side effects not commonly mentioned because i was trying to find answers to why, in 5-6 years, im almost to my former weight, cannot control hunger cravings, have been diagnosed with arthritis, fibromyalgia, TMJ, chronic fatigue, etc. Ive atopped taking this debilitating drug. I would rather have my cycles go haywure than to waste anymore of my life. The makers of this drug need slapped with a class action lawsuit.
   —Posted by Char Fox
Show/Hide Response form  Respond 
22 Aug 2016 3 months ago I started experiencing numbness, tingling and weakness in my left leg, I ignored it. As time went on, the sensation took over the entire left side of my body with my head and neck full of pressure/tingling. When I called my Gyno, a nurse assured me it was neurological and to see a neurologist. I let it go on for another month and after losing much sleep, I knew I needed to tell someone. After seeing a neurologist, one of his first questions was, do you take any estrogen? I said yes birth control pills. He showed some concern, but wanted to run a number of tests first. The results showed everything was clear neurologically. But the feeling was now going on all day and night, I couldn't bare it. I made a call to my Gyno once again. The nurse that answered this time showed much concern and advised me to stop taking my birth control immediately as these symptoms may lead to stroke. That night I did not take Tri-Sprintec... I woke up in the morning with the most mild numbness and within a few hours, the sensations were completely gone. I couldn't believe that I was relieved of it so fast. I don't know any females personally who experienced one of the dangerous side effects of birth control, but I do now. If anyone else comes across an experience like this, follow your gut, don't ignore it, and tell someone. I'm grateful it wasn't too late and I learned a lot from this experience.
   —Posted by Anonymous
Show/Hide Response form  Respond 
22 Aug 2016 3 months ago I started experiencing numbness/tingling in my left leg, I ignored it. As time went on, the numbness took over the entire left side of my body with my head and neck full of pressure/tingling. When I called my Gyno, a nurse assured me it was neurological and to see a neurologist. I let it go on for another month and after losing much sleep, I knew I needed to tell someone. After seeing a neurologist, one of his first questions was, do you take any estrogen? I said yes birth control pills. He showed some concern, but wanted to do MRI/EEG first. After a number of tests, everything was clear neurologically. But the feeling was going on all day and night, I couldn't bare it. I made a call to my Gyno once again. The nurse that answered this time showed much concern and advised me to stop taking my birth control immediately as these symptoms may lead to stroke. That night I did not take the pill, I woke up in the morning with zero numbness and I couldn't believe that I was relieved of it so fast. I don't know any females personally who experienced one of the dangerous side effects of birth control, but I do now. If anyone else comes across an experience like this, follow your gut, don't ignore it, and tell someone. I'm grateful it wasn't too late and I learned a lot from this experience.
   —Posted by Anonymous
Show/Hide Response form  Respond 
17 Jan 2016 I've been on tri-srintec since November and so far its been good. I used to have terrible cramps and the only way I could get better was taking Naproxen, having a hot shower and lay in bed with a heating pad... since November I haven't done this ritual so its an amazing improvement. Another improvement is that my skin has gotten better and I noticed my breast had gotten more bigger. I haven't seen any weight gain, I'm still in my range (132-136 lb) the same I was before taking the pill but I've noticed my thighs, hips and abdomen had gotten fuller. I haven't gained any weight but it seems like the body fat has distributed to those areas. Other downside is that my last periods had lasted longer than usual and I've noticed lower sex drive. Overall is a good pill, I have nothing to compare it to because this is the first brand I've tried but so far I'm not disappointed.
   —Posted by Anonymous
Show/Hide Response form  Respond 
28 Jul 2014 I just started taking Tri Sprintec last week. The reason I chose this pill because it cost only $9/ momth without insurance. I read many reviews before taking it, but thought everyone reacts differently to the pill. I wanted to think positive and hope that this pill will go well with my body. I only took it for exactly 5 days and OMG it is the worst drug ever!!! The first day I took it, immediately I felt really sick and nauseated. I thought this is expected and wanted to ride it through. The second day I started to feel really tired and down and out. Not wanting to do anything. Again, I wanted to ride it through. The third day, the same thing but it got worse. I started to feel negative and starting to cry and feel insesure about everything. I am normally a very confident person and I have a wonderful boyfriend. I started to doubt his love for me or my love for him. I don't really want to do anything BUT sleep. Then the fourth day, then the fifth day. I told my boyfriend that this is waaay too much for me to handle and it is effecting our relationship. I got off the pill right away. After one day of getting off the pill, the heahaches and nausea went away immediately. But I was still emotional unstable. Now it has been 3 days after taking the pill and I am bleeding again due to the withdrawal of the pill. But I am feeling much better and almost back to my old self. That was the worst 5 days of my life!!! Very scary. For me it doesn't work. Definitely is something I will NEVER want to get back on again. Sighhhhhh
   —Posted by Anonymous
Show/Hide Response form  Respond 
27 Mar 2016 I am on day five. I feel so tired and miserable. I feel like I am teetering on the edge of insanity. I was so irritated by everything yesterday and was so angry but didn't know why. I have to do this for 3 months to qualify for my hysterectomy. I font know if I can do this. I spent many years getting my head right and in five days its been all messed up.
   —Posted by Chrissy
28 Jul 2014 Hi there, I'm so glad you are off this awful drug. I took it for a year unfortunately and it gradually got worse and worse... I have been taking apri for the past year and I feel like myself again. I wish they would take it off the market it almost ruined my life. It makes me so angry to think that girls are still going through this. You would think that such severe side effect wouldnt happen from a birth control pill. Going off of this drug was the best thing you could have done for yourself.
   —Posted by Anonymous
Health begins with knowledge. Share your experience and see how you compare with others:
Rate Tri-Sprintec:
How Effective has it been for you?
-10
0
10
Worse
Better
Click to select rating
Have you experienced Side Effects?
0
10
None   Severe
Click to select rating
Would you recommend it to others?
0
10
  No   Yes   
Click to select rating



For Your Health



Affiliates click here

Directory of Sponsored Services

Health begins with Knowledge. Visit our sponsors on your journey to a healthier, happier life.

Patient Resources

Legal / Regulatory Notices

Health Practitioners

Wellness Products

Clinical Trials / Research

Lifestyle

Medication Name: